Often includes black pepper, cloves, coriander, cumin, ginger, mace, and turmeric. You can do this in any type of frying pan, but it’s easiest in a heavier pan which won’t get the hot/cold sections that can result in burning. I certainly do, and whether you’re toasting dry spices or blooming ground ones in oil, the added heat can give them a new lease on life.” Now with the WHEN TO DO IT taken care of, let’s look at HOW TO DO IT: Place an empty pan over medium-high heat. Best keep it tasting as good as possible. You can use toasted spices to finish a curry or other spiced dish, adding a final layer of spice and rounding out the dish in much the same way some brown butter or toasted nuts would. Michelle Dee from Charlotte, NC on August 22, 2013: I have never tried toasting spices and nuts before but do have a few recipes that call for this and now I want to try it. The spices will toast and brown at different speeds, and so you’re either left with some that aren’t toasted or some that are burnt! John D Lee is a chef and restauranteur living and working in Chiang Mai, Thailand. Raw ground spices are quick to burn, so always toast spices whole and then grind them. Herbs and spices have limited a lifespan (not measured in years!). After a while, instead of herby you get dry and bland. This video is unavailable. What spices should I toast? Whole spices, either toasted or untoasted, will keep for up to a year when kept in a cool, dry place. The spices are toasted when you can smell their aroma. But the other day I noticed my toasted-and-freshly-ground coriander smelled pretty weak, and I ended up boosting the flavor with pre-ground stuff that packed a lot more "fresh" (citrusy, floral) flavor. Toasted, and freshly ground whole spices provide a vividness and depth of flavour you can’t compare with. You can lay your spices out on a baking sheet and crush them with a pint glass or a heavy mug, or you can throw them in a bag and crush them with a mallet. You tap into a whole